appleseed Users Forum

appleseed 2.1.0-beta, Blender issues

Hello AS Team,

thank you very much for this extremely good looking, crisp render - and your effort in producing it.

I took a weekend for my researches and did exercises in order to make it running for my test visualizations.
I am new to AS and i have difficulties to find any kind of tutorial about the concept of this renderer. So sorry if the questions are plausible:

Setup:
AS Beta 2.1.0, Blender 28 and 28.1 (latest builds)
Windows Ryzom1700X

1. Setup: Normal Map concept.
    If i am not wrong, the node tree shold be build like this:
    asGlobals->asTexture(NormalBitmap)->asBump(Bump=NormalMap)->asPlastik(NormalMap).
    Here is the screenshot and the scene illustrating the setup:
    https://seafile.cg-prototype.com/f/08d0c1948b664a8d9d72/
    “01_normalmap_shader.blend”

-> Problems: The simple subdivided BlenderSpehere shows smooth shading, but using normal-map it draws faces smoothing groups edgy.

1. Normal Map ColorSpace Management concept.
    Using NormalBitmap in other 3d applications requires setting Raw/Linear ColorSpace. In Appleseed i see the toggle with “CMS”: does the user needs to toggle it while using NormalBitmap and setup “Raw”? I have tried but i can not deduct what happens, for me it looks random.

2. asManifold2D: Texcoordination manipulation:
    In the same scene trying to change any parameter of asManifold2D-Node does not affect the appearance.
    It seems as if the asManifold2D is out of function. I was not able to, for example, tile the map 10x10.
    How can the user manipualte texture coordinates in AppleSeed correctly?
    s. the same attached scene as above:
    “01_normalmap_shader.blend”

3. UDIMs: random stops
    Using latest Blender 281, i was trying to engage UDIMs in AppleSeed. While i can get first two materials working, rendering stops after i add any kind of bitmap to the thrid material in the material editor.