First couple of tests for review

Hi all, here are my first couple of test clips for review. I am a motion graphics designer so my focus on teasting is render speed and flexibilty. So far I have battled somewhat to get a render out quickly with sufficient quality. I suspect that is mostly due to me still getting used to the renderer.

RGB Balls

Title Render Grey

Title Render with mesh lights

I would love some thoughts and suggestions.

Interesting, I see you did a render engine comparison with your RGB Balls scene.

When I compare a frame of the animation I can see quite some differences. Most notably the Glass material in the Renderman version (center image) seems strange.

The appleseed version (top) shows a dark spot on the green ball. Maybe you have a too low bounce limit set so that rays which transmit through the glass ball are not fully propagated.

This comparison is super interesting.

Would you mind providing us with the Blender and appleseed files so that we can make sure everything is setup optimally?

Yeah, I am exploring all the different render engines for Blender. I want to get up on the new rendering techniques and to show colleagues about the options out there.

The Renderman is not great. It is quite a beast and the glass is not playing well at the moment. Again, a lot of this is down to user inexperience with the tools.

No problems with sharing the files, I will upload them when I get home. I would like to get a couple of setups that allow for a speedier work flow or a higher polished look.

Here are the links to the RGB Balls Blender and Appleseed files. Shout if anything is missing.

Thanks for the scene files.

The dark spot behind the glass sphere is simply due to caustics being disabled. In other words, since caustics are disabled, the glass sphere is considered to be opaque to rays that bounced off the green sphere.

Did you enable caustics in the other renderers, in particular in Cycles?