appleseed Users Forum

How to batch-render from appleseed standalone?

Hi everybody, I’m testing Appleseed for use in animation (I like its toon shader), so I need to batch render a set of name.###.appleseed files. I can render one file at a time, either from appleseed.studio or appleseed.cli, but I can’t find any information about starting a batch render (on the forum or in the Docs)

I’m using Ubuntu. I’m sure this is a simple task for someone experienced in Bash, but I’m just starting out with it. I don’t want to write a script that does the job, but in a much more difficult and slow way than someone that knows what they’re doing.

Also, I don’t see any sort of -batch flag in appleseed.cli -h. I tried running the client on the entire directory, but it returned an error. I try to solve these things myself before I post a question.

Thanks.

Also, if there’s a way to batch render from appleseed.studio, and I missed it, please tell me!

1 Like

OK, was able to figure it out with Python, still not happy with my script, so please give me advice on how to make it better:

import os
import subprocess
import fnmatch

pathScene = "PATH_TO_SCENE"
pathRender = "PATH_TO_APPLESEED.CLI"
fileType = '.png'
outStem = "testRender."
outPath = 'OUTPUT_PATH'
scenes = []

for file in os.listdir(pathScene):
    if fnmatch.fnmatch(file, '*appleseed'):
        scenes.append(file)
scenes.sort()

for scene in scenes:
    split = scene.split('.')
    fileNum = split[1]
    #will try to make this more flexible in the future
    outName = outPath + outStem + fileNum + fileType
    subprocess.call([pathRender + '/appleseed.cli', pathScene + "/" + scene, "-o", outName])

#print (fileNum, outName)

I really think there’s an easier way to do this, entirely within BASH

There’s no way currently to batch render from appleseed.studio, however appleseed ships with a Python script called rendermany.py (found in bin/) which allows to render a bunch of appleseed projects at once.