Resources to read?

I have some background in rendering, but most of it is older, i.e. things like PolyRay and POV-Ray from 10-20 years ago - so pretty much all direct illumination / eye-based. I have a little Blender experience, but not much with its renderers, whether Cycles or BI. I get how path tracers work, but have almost no experience in them.

I’m routinely lost when looking around at all the things I have control over in Appleseed, but both docs and tutorials are a bit scarce. Now, I know that most of this wasn’t invented from scratch in Appleseed, so I’m sure that most of it I can read about somewhere. What is a good place to get some background and some practical explanation on things like renderer settings and, particularly, with different materials and their parameters and interactions? Is something like PBRT a good place to start?

PBRT (Physically Based Rendering) is an excellent source if you are interested in all the theory and concepts of modern render technology and its implementation. It is not a how-to do for the average end-user.
Some explanation about the current state of documentation and tutorials (or lack thereof):

• That the docs and tutorials are a bit scarce is a problem shared with most free open source projects. It is hard to find people to do (unpaid) the relatively unexciting work of writing extensive documentation and preparing tutorial scenes.
  • Good tutorial scenes, which are up to the standard of what artists produce for commercial work, are especially hard to do. High quality assets (models, textures) used in these scenes are mostly not free, not cheap and cannot be included to be shared with other users.
  • appleseed had some major changes recently, especially the introduction of a fully OSL (Open Shading Language) based shader system, and that means the process of updating the documentation is still ongoing.